PDA

View Full Version : what wide angle for 4x5?

knut
10-Feb-2009, 10:50
dear all,
i am very new to this all, large format photography, this forum, etc.
i am about to purchase a 4x5 tachihara, and now have to decide on the kind of lenses i want / need to get: thus far i have been exclusively using a mamiya 6 with the (excellent) 50mm lense, and i would very much like to get a lense now which will be as close to this one as possible, in the "feel" (and the distortion) of the image: exact numbers are certainly not important, but i would like to continue / compliment the same body of work with the larger format. i read somewhere that the equivalent of a 50mm medium format lense would be " a 100mm, or better: 90mm lense". is that so? does 135mm qualifie as well? and do you have particular suggestions?
thank you so much for your advice,
knut

BrianShaw
10-Feb-2009, 10:54
some people go really wide -- 65, etc. For the LF equivelent of a MF 50 lens, I find 135 to often suffice but a 90 to be better. The 90, however, is less simple to use because it (my set-up at least) benefits from bag bellows and recessed lens board. In hindsight I might have thought to split the difference and go with a 120.

Archphoto
10-Feb-2009, 11:07
One thing you should be thinking about is image-circle and how much shift you may want.
A 75 Super Angulon or Grandagon will give you more room to play with than a 65.
If you want realy wide have a a look at the 58XL .

The 75 was my main wide-angle, together with a 115 Grandagon.

Peter

Sinar P2 4x5 and 8x10

Gem Singer
10-Feb-2009, 11:12
From my experience with the 4X5 Tachi, the ideal set of lenses that afforded the best range of focal lengths with that camera (since it has a fixed bellows, with a maximum length of approx. 300 mm) is:

90SW
135W or 150W
180W or 210W

Schneider, Rodenstock, Fujinon, and Nikon all make excellent lenses in those focal lengths. Caltar lenses are rebadged Rodenstocks and Schneiders. Usually less expensive.