PDA

View Full Version : I'm a photographer, not a terrorist

Ash
10-Feb-2009, 05:18
http://www.bjp-online.com/public/showPage.html?page=839021

http://www.bjp-online.com/public/showPage.html?page=836675

http://www.nuj.org.uk/innerPagenuj.html?docid=1104

I'm not sure how many UK members here will be able to attend.

I was tempted to take along my SWC and shoot some super-wide shots of the probably small crowd of people, but thinking more I might try my best to take along the Razzle if I can find enough film in time.

Not really in the mood to shoot 5x4 instants, but it might come to that if I don't have enough film left!

Nice to know the freedom to take a photo in a public place is being destroyed piece by piece though.

cobalt
10-Feb-2009, 07:39
Not meaning to get political here, but the UK is beginning to seem quite similar to the U.S.

Allen in Montreal
10-Feb-2009, 08:51
Everyone is using every angle possible to restrict the the press, here in Canada we are facing the same type of rubbish.
politics
It will soon be illegal to insult a police officer in Montreal! No joke.
My guess, if that legislation (municipal) passes, it will soon be extended to city officials and to other levels of government.

This is not a political statement in the sense of one party vs another etc, it is clear fact with big business and the new generation of politicians.
The fact is, our governments want newspapers to publish the material they are given by said governments without question.
Don't laugh too quickly, it has been slowly brewing for a long while and the noose tightens with every year that passes.

Free Press is on its last legs, speak now or forever hold your shutter!
Soon tourist snap shots will be all that is permitted in the streets.
All the while, the real "risks" and left unaddressed.

BradS
10-Feb-2009, 17:20