PDA

View Full Version : Testing a Used Camera and Lenses

Scott Teven
5-Feb-2009, 09:59
I recently purchases a used LF 4x5 monorail camera (Cambo 45SF) and 2 lenses:
(90mm F6.8 Rodenstock Grandagon MC and a 150mm F5.6 Caltar II-N MC). Both lenses are in Copal 0 shutters.

I am pretty new to LF and was wondering if there are some basic tests I can perform on this equipment just to verify everything is in working order. What sort of simple subjects should I photograph initially to examine my first exposures? I have color transparency film that I will be using. My longer range goal is to photograph architecture and landscapes.

Gem Singer
5-Feb-2009, 10:19
The first thing to check for is light leaks.

In a darkened room, extend the bellows all the way out. Using a flashlight, or similar light source inside of the bellows, move it around. If you can see tiny pin holes of light on the outside of the bellows, you have light leaks.

Small pin holes can be repaired. Large light leaks might require a complete bellows replacement.

If no leaks show up, just go out and shoot your favorite subjects. You'll soon learn that most goof-ups are caused by operator errors.

Enjoy your new camera.

venchka
5-Feb-2009, 10:41
Extend your flashlight search to include the lens board and film holders. Best way to do that is remove either the lens board or back. Look through the open end and move the flashlight around on the outside of the camera. Switch ends and repeat. That's how I tracked down a light leak between my camera back and a Grafmatic holder.

Make sure you have a secure connection between camera and tripod head. Do that at home before venturing out. In fact, make sure everything is secure. Shutters opening and closing for focusing and for picture taking. I spent several evenings at home going through the motions before actually taking the camera out to play. It helped.

Practice loading film holders.