PDA

View Full Version : close up portrait for 5x4

brian robertson
3-Feb-2009, 07:52
Dear All,

I'm new to LF, have a new 5x4 Shen Hao and 210 Nikkor. I want to get in really close for head shots- like macro. Using ambient light, mainly indoors. What would you recommend a) for size for this and b) good value for cost? Thank you!

Steve H
3-Feb-2009, 08:14
I have a Wollensack Verto II....12" or something like that I believe. I bought it in shutter for around $300 or so; I really like it as you can 'dial in' the softness; so it can be used as a regular lens as well if you like.

Joe Forks
3-Feb-2009, 08:25
even using your 210mm to focus at 1:1 you would need an additional 60mm of extension board (assuming your shen has 360mm of bellows).

Ken Lee
3-Feb-2009, 08:59
A "normal" 210mm lens requires 210mm of bellows draw to focus at infinity: that's how they rate lenses. A "telephoto" design requires less bellows draw - but tele lenses have shortcomings of their own: smaller image circles, and a learning curve when using view camera movements. However, these factors should be irrelevant for tight face shots.

A "normal" lens design will always require 2x its focal length to shoot at 1:1. At 1:1, the subject will be 4x5 inches in size: smaller than most faces. A tele lens will require less bellows draw than a standard lens, to get you just as close.

If you are wedded to the Shen Hao, then you might consider a tele lens such as the 300mm Fujinon T, the 400mm Fujinon T, or the 360 Nikkor T. If not, then consider a second camera - with longer bellows draw - and keep your 210mm lens. Used equipment is cheap these days, and you can certainly have more than one camera. You can even get an old 5x7 or 8x10 camera (which come with much longer bellows), keep it in "the studio", and use a 4x5 reducing back.