PDA

View Full Version : Options for compact 4x5 accepting roll film

bestremera
29-Jan-2009, 16:52
Newbie here,

I'm researching my 4X5 camera options and seek some advise.

Camera will be used almost exclusively for walkaround (New York City) shots of buildings from 19th century to modern skyscrapers.
I think big shifts will be my most desirable feature to eliminate the effects of buildings toppling in on one another. I hate that. But I also know that I'll find a need to employ all the other movements if I had them.
A wide angle lens is preferred.

I've been researching PC and TS lenses to use with 35mm cameras (digital or film) but keep coming to the realization that only a real view camera will give me the versatility and quality I want.
My previous 'deal breaker' on 4X5's was not wanting to carry and load sheet film.
I figure the roll film back would eliminate that challenge.
What used cameras and lens combos should I be looking for?
Thanks, Bob

Skorzen
29-Jan-2009, 17:06
Just about any 4X5 can take a roll film back, those that have graflok backs have more options as to which backs you can use.

Gem Singer
29-Jan-2009, 17:27
Look for a camera that has a lot of front rise. You will be using that movement more than shift or tilt. You won't need a huge amount of bellows extension, either.

Walker makes a field camera designed specifically for wide angle architecture photography. So does Ebony.

If you plan on using roll film exclusively, look for a smaller size field camera that has a Graflock back.

Glenn Thoreson
29-Jan-2009, 18:24