PDA

View Full Version : carl zeiss jena 196mm protar lens help

sgelb
28-Jan-2009, 21:34
I just got this zeiss protar brass lens.. looks v similar to many others I have seen on the web, but full info on the web seems to be missing..

carl zeiss Jena 85138
protar f/9 196mm

sadly there is some separation on the rear element.

seems to me to go from f/8.8 to 45 or so. III is marked clearly on the aperture ring. I found info on a protar 8.5cm and a IIIa all of which seem very different than this one.

Ive heard these can cover 8x10 and that they are from pre-1920 kind of time frame.

anyone have any idea on how to get it on a board for a speed graphic? could it fit into a copal? I dunno Im a total beginner with all this antique lens and shutter stuff!!!

ive also heard these can screw into a graphex, but it didnt work on mine.

sgelb
28-Jan-2009, 23:55
please help.. i have looked at 5 manuals, none list this lens.

serial dates it to 1906 or thereabouts.

Ole Tjugen
29-Jan-2009, 00:27
You have a Protar f/9, also called a IIIa. Angle of coverage is about 90 degrees. It's one of the asymmetric ones, meaning the front and rear cells are different even if both are 2 cemented elements.

A Speed Graphic is a good way to use these lenses, you just need a board with the correct size hole!

The "III" on the barrel is the barrel size, not the lens type. It won't fit in any shutter without expensive adapters.

sgelb
29-Jan-2009, 08:17
do you know where I could get a board for it?

It came with a speed I just bought. but it doesnt look like there was any board with it.

Ole Tjugen
29-Jan-2009, 08:48
No idea about boards.

I use only three boards on my Anniversary speed Graphic - one has a 150mm Tessar, the other a 240mm f:4.5 Heliar in sunk mount, the third one has a tiny little universal iris lens mount which I use for everything else:

Gene McCluney
29-Jan-2009, 09:03