PDA

View Full Version : Are my negatives thin?

coops
24-Jan-2009, 08:29
I fired up my Omega enlarger the other day for only the 3rd time ( the one with the color head) because I was really excited about some shots I took the day before, Ilford HP5 dev in Kodak D-76. I scanned a few of the negs and with minimal curves adjustment they looked great, with good detail everywhere. However when I tried to print them on the enlarger using Ilford Rc paper, the shadow areas required only 6 secs to expose at f 11. I am new to this but I expected a longer exposure time with what I thought to be a good negative. I know I could stop down but would I lose sharpness?
I guess a negative that scans well does not neccasarily print well on the Omega?
I could increase the yellow filter?

With a well exposed neg, is there an ideal enlarger exposure time I should be looking at that allows dodging and burning etc?

Perhaps my negs are not as good as I think they are?

Bruce Watson
24-Jan-2009, 09:08
I fired up my Omega enlarger the other day for only the 3rd time ( the one with the color head) because I was really excited about some shots I took the day before, Ilford HP5 dev in Kodak D-76. I scanned a few of the negs and with minimal curves adjustment they looked great, with good detail everywhere. However when I tried to print them on the enlarger using Ilford Rc paper, the shadow areas required only 6 secs to expose at f 11. I am new to this but I expected a longer exposure time with what I thought to be a good negative. I know I could stop down but would I lose sharpness?
I guess a negative that scans well does not neccasarily print well on the Omega?
I could increase the yellow filter?

With a well exposed neg, is there an ideal enlarger exposure time I should be looking at that allows dodging and burning etc?

Perhaps my negs are not as good as I think they are?