PDA

View Full Version : Cost of large format?

ConnorR
12-Jan-2009, 21:06
Okay, so I know from experience that you hate people like me. I know little about large format and less about the cost of getting started. I've been shooting for a bit over two years and found an amazing deal on a hasselblad 500c locally and film has been my real interest recently. I self develop my own B&W in my sink and have access to a darkroom at my highschool. They don't have enlargers big enough for 4x5, however. I own an Epson 4490 which I don't think is big enough for complete 4x5 scans. I may be wrong, it wouldn't be the first time.

So my question is what is the cost for a complete large format outfit that I can use for the rest of my life? One lens is all I would need for now. I'm toying with the idea of shooting large format and I think it's something I would really enjoy. I prefer a slow workflow.

Most of my film work is on my flickr, www.flickr.com/photos/connorroelke

Thanks in advance everyone.

bspeed
12-Jan-2009, 21:25
A Nikon Cafe guy! hello there, buddy.

The Camera and lens is one thing, I see you also will have some ha$$les maybe, in developing. Do they have any 4x5 developing tanks, etc at school ?

and your local craigslist :) there is a Bessler 23c for $100....talk em down.. It might be capable of adding4x5 stuff

and for only $15, you should grab this for the display shelf:
http://nh.craigslist.org/pho/974228857.html lol. but really yes.

more darkroom:
http://nh.craigslist.org/pho/973800898.html

redrockcoulee
12-Jan-2009, 21:46
Large Format may end up less expensive that a Hasselblad system if you buy more than one lens or could be much higher if you buy several of the more expensive LF lenses.