PDA

View Full Version : Efke 50 tank developing

Bill Putnam
1-Jan-2009, 20:30
Hi everyone,
I am about to start a landscape project with a 4x5 pinhole usine Efke 50 b/w film. I have shot some already and it looks great (must be the film and not the photog!).
Since I am a poor college student I want to develop the film my self. My plan, for now, is to use Kodak D76 (I like the results on my 35mm Tri-X so sticking with a proven developer is key for me).

The questions I have are more technical.
1) Can I soup the film in Paterson tanks?
2) If so, do I need special holders or do I just put the film in there?
3) Should I use a "hardener" on the film during developing?

That's it for now folks. Thanks in advance.

Happy New Year.

Cheers,
Bill.

gari beet
2-Jan-2009, 02:31
Hi Bill, I shoot Efke25 in halfplate and process it in a paterson tank, one sheet at a time.
I hand roll it in a jobo for the temp bath but there is no reason you can't do the same in a tub or other with tempered water. It is a little more time consuming than doing a batch but as I shoot small amounts of film I am ok with it, also it means if I shoot 1 sheet all day I can still process what I have there and then.

Gari

gbogatko
2-Jan-2009, 11:47
I use an HP Combi-Plan and soup in Diafine. The Combi-Plan will do 6 negs at a time and is a cinch to use.

Diafine is a 2-bath developer that will produce really usable negs from just about any kind of exposure conditions. I begin to think it's impossible to blow highlights and lose shadows with the stuff assuming you aren't being too silly when taking the picture. Total dev time with fixing is around 15 min at a temperature of somewhere between 65 and 75 degrees -- yes, it's real forgiving. The working solution lasts forever, so even though it's about $17 for a gallon's worth you get it back because you don't have to throw any away for a loooong time.

Glenn Thoreson
2-Jan-2009, 12:13