PDA

View Full Version : Plz help me choosing a 4x5 camera

Ryan Kim
25-Dec-2008, 06:40
Hi, I'm Ryan.
I am pretty new to LF camera. I had a 4x10 canham with 5x7 back for few weeks, and I just gave up on them last week. I decided to go with 4x5 camera, for I do not really want large prints.
The cameras I have are Leica M, Rolleiflex, and Hasselblad 903swc. You probably noticed already that I am amature photographer by my camera collection.
I usually do street snaps and family portraits. I travel a lot too. So I am thinking about choosing a small filed view camera. What I can choose from where I live right now are Arca swiss Misura, Lihof technika series, and Ebonys. I like an Arca swiss Misura the most but Misura doesn't have neither rear tilt nor swing. I am not sure that would be a problem for someone like me who is usually shooting street snaps and portraits. I had tried my friend's technika 2000 and I had no broblem with its movement ability. Compare to Linhof technica 2000, how is Misura's movements?
Is there any other 4x5 camera that you would like to recommend to me?

Walter Calahan
25-Dec-2008, 07:08
For street shooting, I love a Crown Graphic.

Peter De Smidt
26-Dec-2008, 04:26
I agree, why not try a Crown Graphic. For street snaps and family portraits one would be ideal, and if you decide 4x5 is not for you, you won't be out a ton of cash.

Frank Petronio
26-Dec-2008, 07:36
I use a Crown too but a handheld Technicka IV or later -- if you can handle the extra pounds -- is the best all-around do-everything camera ever. But a Crown is a nice inexpensive way to see if it is for you. Actually you could purchase a Crown for handheld and travel, and still buy a nice studio monorail for other things, for the price of a good Technika.

But if you like Leica's and Rolleis and Blads, a Linhof Technika just keeps you in that same high-quality Prussian frame of mind. In fact a Linhof is probably higher quality....