PDA

View Full Version : Buying My First 4x5 Film

dazedgonebye
18-Dec-2008, 09:07
The latest chapter in my "I'm new to large format" saga....

Now I need film.

I currently shoot FP4 and PanF in 120 and 35mm film. I develop in Barry's 2-bath formula. I have shot a good bit of Efke 25, 50 and 100 in 35mm and some 50iso in 120.

I develop with the Barry's because it gives good, consistant results and it accounts for the incompetencies of my ADD addled/Overworked/underslept mind. In short, it's just idiot proof enough for my level of idiocy.

I'm thinking I'll buy a box of FP4 for general work under a lens, and perhaps a box of the Efke 100 for learning and for pinhole work.

Any input on this? Anything I should know about these films in large format that might somehow feel different than medium format?

The only other developer I keep around is Diafine. Is there a film I should go out of my way to try in that?

Thanks, as always.

Ron Marshall
18-Dec-2008, 09:18
FP4 is a good choice. I liked it best in XTOL, but it will do well in the devs you mentioned.

venchka
18-Dec-2008, 09:24
I'll let my Diafine Zealot friend speak on that subject.

I started with an expired box of HP5+ I got cheap. I really really like it. Talk about idiot proof! To date I have developed the HP5+ in D-76 1:1 and Xtol 1:3 in my Jobo tanks with continuous agitation. Rodinal 1:100 for an hour with almost no agitation. It's all good. I also had some old 120 HP5+ and got similar results from it. E.I. has been 400 & lately 250. I also underexposed the heck out of it (2 stops at least) and got useable results.

That said, I will give Tmax 400-2 a try before making a choice forever and forever. The Tmax 400-2 better be plenty good and plenty idiot proof or I'm going back to HP5+.

Personally, I like the comfort zone of the faster film for 4x5.

wclavey
18-Dec-2008, 09:32
Thanks, Wayne... and now over to Westley...