PDA

View Full Version : Schneider super symmar XL 210mm lens

Ryan Kim
6-Dec-2008, 07:44
Hi,
I am Ryan from Korea, and I am very new to large format photography.
I chose Canham 4x10 camera with 5x7 back and Schneider super symmar xl 210mm lens. I chose this lens just because friends that made me comming into this large format photography have told me this lens is one of the best lens I could find for 4x10 and 5x7 camera. However none of them have used it because it is very hard to find both new and used one here in Korea
Somehow I found this lens(new) and bought it(I had to sell my Hasselblad903swc).
I realized that there is no UV filter for this lens (size 135mm filter). Schneider only sells center filter for this lens maybe because everyone is using this lens with 8x10 camera. Center filter for this lens is very expensive and I heard I do not need it for my 5x7 and 4x10 camera(right?).
Can anyone give me an advice what I should do with this lens?

1. make an up-ring and use it with 121mm UV filter(largest UV filter BW provides)
2. just get a center filter
3. use different lens (ex. schneider super symmar HM 210mm)

I also have a doubt that my body(wood field camera) could hold this heavy lens..

Don Hutton
6-Dec-2008, 07:52
For the formats you mention, I'd get a 210 Rodenstock Sironar S or a 210 Schneider Apo Symmar-L - plenty of image circle, extremely sharp and contrasty and much more managable than the 210XL. I owned a 210XL for a couple of years. Never bothered with it on 8x10 as there are other options which are much smaller, have less fall-off, are equally sharp and are more managable in the field. I used it a bit on 11x14, and even then, it used to be a "run back to the car lens" for me...

Nick_3536
6-Dec-2008, 08:02
A Fuji-W 1st series 210mm has more then enough coverage for 4x10 and likely would cost you less then the centre filter for the Xl.

Ryan Kim
6-Dec-2008, 08:05
Yes, now that I know that there are many good lenses.