PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!! I dont know what to get.

mynewromantica
21-Nov-2008, 14:17
I am a phtot student and I have to have a LF camera next semester. I have no idea what to get. All the cameras I have looked at dont have lesnses on them just lens boards. What is a lens board? And what lens should i get if I am going to be doing mostly portraits. Basically, I have no clue what I'm doing.

THanks

P.S. Cost plays a big factor in all of this too.

Vick Vickery
21-Nov-2008, 14:47
Ohhhh...you need to do some serious reading! :-) Your questions are down at the most basic level! OK, lets try a few basic answers assumming that you will end up with a 4x5 view camera (one that uses 4"x5" film in sheet film holders):

1. Lens boards are detachable plates on the front of the camera upon which various lenses can be mounted for use. Look at the photos of view cameras on eBay or elsewhere and you'll find that they have a piece of glass on one end (the ground glass focusing pannel) and a board or sheet of metal on the other with either a lens on it or a small hole thru it (the lens board...the hole is the place to attach a lens).

2. Lens for portraiture...most folks shooting 4x5 tend toward a lens of around 210mm focal length. This is a bit shorter compared to the "normal lens" (a lens equal to the diagonal of the film...about 160mm on 4x5) since most people use a lens of around twice the normal focal length when shooting smaller format cameras. Twice normal on 4x5 would be about 320mm, which would model fine for portraiture, but which would also require much more room for shooting and would require a longer than normal bellows when shooting close shots. Lots of people use a normal lens for most everything and are quite happy with that. Longer lenses usually cost more money!