PDA

View Full Version : wide angle lenses (again)

womble
19-Nov-2008, 13:54
Hi.

I am a newbie to LF photography and am looking for a wide angle lens for my Horseman LE 5x4. I mainly want to use it for architecture. I did contribute to an earlier threat in case any of you have a feeling of deja vu.

I have been offered:

1) A Schneider Krueznach Super Aungulon 75mm F5.6 which comes with a Schneider center filter Number III

2) A Schneider Super aungulon 65mm f5.6

3) A Schneider Super Aungulon 90mm f8

I only want to buy one lens at this stage, so I was wondering which people would recommend. Is there a website with reviews of these lenses, or an easy way of finding out the image circle, weight, etc?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Best wishes, Kris.

Ole Tjugen
19-Nov-2008, 14:14
A search for "Super Angulon" should turn up some useful threads. In fact, THIS website is one of the best sources of information about just about anything LF related. Remember to read the articles as well, you will find them by clicking "LF Home Page" at the top of this page.

Dan Fromm
19-Nov-2008, 14:24
Also visit www.schneiderkreuznach.com, click on Fotographie for information on current lenses, hover the cursor over Service and then click on Archiv for older lenses.

Y'know, the three lenses you're contemplating see the world somewhat differently. If you have a 35 mm camera, the 90 sees about the same horizontal angle of view on 4x5 as a 25 mm lens on 35 mm still, the 75 corresponds roughly to 22, and the 65 to 19. Remember that the normal focal length for 35 mm still is 43 mm, not the 50 or longer that most people carry.

If I were you, I'd worry more about how the lenses see the world and less about whether they have adequate coverage etc. Although, now that I think of it, and without consulting any reference, the 65 is very wide for 4x5 and, IIRC, just covers the format, i.e., doesn't allow movements.

Good luck, have fun, keep on asking questions,

Dan

womble