PDA

View Full Version : Color film developing by hand. Inverting vs rotating agitation

mikhail
18-Nov-2008, 12:00
I am new to large format photography. The reason I have a concern in the subject is I am not fully satisfied with the image quality of landscapes and architecture I get with my digital cameras (I have been using some Nikon DX cameras (D70, D200 and D300) for four years. I have already purchased Sinar F (4x5”) used, and am going to purchase Fujinon SWD 5.6/75mm lens in near future. I am going to shoot both negative and positive color films as well as B/W.

I have found a lot of useful information about large format photography in this site and internet, but still need help to decide how should I process my films to get better image quality.

One of my problems is I have to process my films by myself. There is no lab in my town which process 4x5” sheet films, and those in another towns do not serve their customers via mail. Purchasing processor is out of my budget, besides I am not going to do lot of large format shots (at least for the beginning). So I am going to process my films by hand. Inconvenience of such approach doesn't scare me. Image quality is what I want in the first place.

So far as I have learned searching through this site forums and internet temperature and agitation are parameters one must consider while processing color films.
What about temperature I am planning to use ordinary bath as a temperature buffer.