PDA

View Full Version : Help! Stuck shutter release lever in Copal 1

Riverman
18-Nov-2008, 07:52
I have purchased a 210mm Schneider Apo Symmar in Copal 1 mount from a reputable seller with 100% positive feedback on eBay. Price paid GBP 200.

The glass is perfect and the lens and shutter are in cosmetically very good condition. They hardly appear used. However, the Copal 1 shutter release lever has a problem. Once the shutter is cocked, the shutter release lever is not depressed easily - to get the shutter to fire the release lever seems to have to be depressed to the point at which it sticks beneath the shutter speed adjustment ring. After firing, the release lever does not automatically flick back to its normal position.

It seems that the shutter, in its current state, will be pretty useless on bulb setting and might not fire easily on other speeds using cable release.

I am new to LF and wonder if this kind of "sticky" shutter release lever is: (a) commonly encountered; and (b) difficult or expensive to repair?

I've contacted the seller to see what they propose as a resolution but the Seller is not offering returns so I am not optimistic of a resolution on that score. Unless I am to end up with an expensive paperweight I will likely have to sort this myself. Grateful for any advice including recommended places for lens/shutter service/repair in central London.

Thanks

Capocheny
18-Nov-2008, 11:43
Hi Riverman,

It sounds like your shutter needs a CLA. The cost will obviously depend on what repairs it needs to get it into good operating shape. All of my lenses are mounted in Copal shutters and they've always been quite reliable.

Ask the seller if they'll spring for a piece of the repair bill.

Good luck.

Cheers

gari beet
18-Nov-2008, 11:49
Hi Riverman, I use Black on White in Bristol for my CLA's. His mailing service is great so no problem that he's not in London. I think a full CLA is around £60-70.
Good service and reliable.

Gari