PDA

View Full Version : recommendations for shutter calibration sought

zack kl
31-Oct-2008, 14:18
After some inconsistencies I've realized that my shutters times are off. Does anybody have any recommendations for a repair shop. I'm in the San Francisco Bay area. I checked out "Flutot's" but there is a 5-6 week wait - I'm still new to LF and am into it up to my nose and would rather not put off all my mistakes that long.
Thanks,
Zack

Darren Kruger
31-Oct-2008, 15:24
After some inconsistencies I've realized that my shutters times are off. Does anybody have any recommendations for a repair shop. I'm in the San Francisco Bay area.

ICT Camera (http://www.ictcamera.com/) is in downtown Mountain View and will do CLAs and repairs on large format shutters. Last time I was in there Fred had some used Copal shutter for sale.

-Darren

Dave_B
31-Oct-2008, 18:12
The other approach is to buy a Calumet shutter tester. They come up for sale on ebay occasionally. For the cost of one CLA you can calibrate all your lens shutters and know for sure how precise they are. If the shutters are consistent but off then a calibration table is the way to go. If they are inconsistent, then they do need a CLA.
Dave B.

zack kl
1-Nov-2008, 17:20
Thanks everyone, I'm going to bring them down to ICT next week.

zack kl
6-Nov-2008, 21:59