PDA

View Full Version : Strange Light leak Marks

Deepak Kumar
19-Oct-2008, 09:10
Hi,

I have just recieved my first developed batch of films and slide. These have strange Light leak pattern on them. Plz check the scans. I am not sure what caused it. Is it pin hole in camera bellows, something wrong with holder, developing or I might be doing something wrong while loading it.

Not all film have the same pattern, out of eleven films four have not shown any light leak. I had taken few(6-8) test before and only one had such problem. So I took that as one off case and did not bother much about it.

I shoot with MPP MkVII and fidelity holders. I load my holder in changing bag in night, when all lights are off.

I got these developed from Pro lab and they seems clueless like me. I am new to shooting LF. Any clue about direction I should look into would be great help.

Deepak Kumar

N Dhananjay
19-Oct-2008, 11:46
Definitely look like light leaks. I would suggest the following. Take your camera inside a dark room. Extend the bellows completely. Put on the back. Switch on a flashlight and put it inside the bellows and shine it around. Any light leak will show up pretty easily. Remove the back, put on a lensboard and repeat. Good luck.
Cheers, DJ

Deepak Kumar
19-Oct-2008, 22:19
Thanks DJ

I probably did not want to bite the bullet and purchase a new bellows.

But now I think thats the main thing I should do before anything elas.

In second and third image, it seems human mistake is the cause.

If anyone can point out where I am making mistake, it will a great help.

As I have 20 holders already loaded. I want to avoid more mistake.

thanks

Vaughn
19-Oct-2008, 22:40
The problem is that I am seeing 3 different types of fogging problems. The one on the right looks like fogging either before or after the film was in the film holder --thus the repeat of the notch shape as other sheets of film were laying on it as it was exposed.