PDA

View Full Version : Testing original Sironar and Sironar-N MC

Adamphotoman
18-Oct-2008, 13:49
Hi folks,
I have been using a Betterlight Super 6K scanning back to test an original single or
perhaps uncoated Sironar 300 mm 5.6 against a Sironar -N MC 300 5.6
and the older lens simply out performs the newer lens by a noticeable amount.
What gives? I would have expected the newer (Sinar Engraved on the front Cell)
lens to be much better. It is in pristine shape.
Grant

Frank Petronio
18-Oct-2008, 14:09
Sample variation?

Oren Grad
18-Oct-2008, 14:23
How have you been testing them?

8x10 user
18-Oct-2008, 15:15
Is the one with Sinar on the front cell in a copal shutter? The cells could of been transfered from a Sinar board without checking for proper spacing. Also the Sironar_N is corrected for 1:20 while I think the original Sironar was optimized for smaller ratios. I am not a lens expert, maybe someone else with more knowledge could confirm this.

Adamphotoman
18-Oct-2008, 17:48
Hi, There are shims in place in the mount for the Sinar DB lens.....I also have Apo Ronars
The Sinar Branded lens is in a Sinar stamped DB mount... no shutter. I tested both
on a painting repro focussing at the taking aperture using the Betterlight focssing aid
after Zig Aligning both the standards and then the whole rig to the wall. The original
Sironar is a much heavier lens in a Copal 3. It is 105 mm front thread while the newer Sironar N-MC is an 86 mm front thread. Then I did medium distance and infinity.

Dan Fromm
19-Oct-2008, 02:31
That an older lens in a "line" can perform better than a newer lens in the same "line" is not new news. See http://www.hevanet.com/cperez/testing.html , which reports on formal resolution tests.

Oren Grad
19-Oct-2008, 07:24
Anything is possible, at least when it comes to narrowly-defined tests of apparent sharpness or resolution. And sample variation is a consideration.