PDA

View Full Version : 55mm 4.5 Rodenstock

genesis111989
16-Oct-2008, 09:57
I was wondering if any of you would take the time to share some photos taken with this lens. I'm having a hard time finding any images on this forum and I was only able to find a couple on flickr. I'm going to be doing a shoot at the end of this month and I will need to rent several lenses and I think this one will be one of them. I've never used this wide of a lens before on a view camera so I just wanted to get an idea of just how wide this puppy is. If any of you have architectural images taken with this lens, even better!

Also, the same for the 45mm f 4.5 Rodenstock APO

Thanks!
AR

Aender Brepsom
16-Oct-2008, 10:30
I can't share any photos taken with the 55mm on 4x5" as I have only used it once, for landscape work (and the result was not good enough to post it here). It was just too wide for my taste. However, I have used it a lot on 6x9cm and liked it very much.

Dave Aharonian
16-Oct-2008, 10:49
I took this photo with the 55mm Rodenstock a few years ago. On 4x5 film the corners will darken a bit and its a pain to focus because of the fall-off on the ground glass. Its also very sharp and I found it performed slightly better than the Schneider 58mm. In this shot I've done a fair bit of burning around the edges. This lens can work for architecture, but you won't really get any movements out of it due to the small image circle.

Hope this helps!

GPS
16-Oct-2008, 10:51
I've never used this wide of a lens before on a view camera so I just wanted to get an idea of just how wide this puppy is. If any of you have architectural images taken with this lens, even better!

Also, the same for the 45mm f 4.5 Rodenstock APO

Thanks!
AR