PDA

View Full Version : HP5+ Reciprocity

zack kl
15-Oct-2008, 10:31
Hi,
I am still new to 4x5 and have been running tests on the the reciprocity factors for Foma (Arista)100 which are quite different than other films it seems.These are going to take a while and so was hoping that somebody might have experience with HP5+ which I have choosen - for no particular reason -as my 400asa film. The reciprocity figures that Ilford gives in their tech sheet are quite different from the tests shown on
http://www.phototechmag.com/articles/articles/200705/0403Bond_Reciprocity2.pdf, a site recommended by "willwilson"(thank you). Anybody have experience as to which work better?
thanks, Zack

Kevin Crisp
15-Oct-2008, 11:16
I've used the basic Kodak table for non-T Max films and had good results with it. The room for error in really long exposures is huge.

kev curry
15-Oct-2008, 11:38
Zack,

I've been using the reciprocity table and development time adjustments for HP5+ for 2 years that I found in ''Using the View Camera'' by Steve Simmons and they've been bang on so far.

Heres the reciprocity table and the necessary development time adjustments ie minus 5%, minus 8% minus 10% and so on from the book....

Metered Time- (2sec / Actual Time Necessary-3sec.) (MT-4sec / ATN-7sec.) (MT-8sec / ATN-19sec -5%) (MT-12sec / ATN-33 sec -8%) (MT-16 / ATN-50 sec -10%) (MT-24 / ATN-93 -12%) (MT-32 / ATN-145 -14%) (MT-45 / ATN-250 -16%) (MT-60 / ATN-378 -18%) (MT-90 / ATN-853 -20% ) (MT-120 / ATN-1670 -24%)

Ken Lee
15-Oct-2008, 15:48
"...HP5+ which I have choosen - for no particular reason..."

Perhaps now you have a good reason to consider a film with better reciprocity characteristics. TMax 400 (http://www.kodak.com/global/en/professional/support/techPubs/f4016/f4016.pdf) is nice in this regard.

http://www.kenleegallery.com/images/forum/tmyrecip.jpg

zack kl
15-Oct-2008, 16:46