PDA

View Full Version : Simplest Processing System

Tim Meisburger
8-Oct-2008, 21:32
I am (or will be) a complete beginner at processing 4x5, and live in Bangkok where it is difficult to get practical advice and equipment. I wonder what is the simplest inexpensive method to develop negatives. I've considered trays, combiplan and Peterson Orbital.

Also, I would like to be able to make contact prints, and understand that some chemicals can be used for both development and printing. Is that correct?

Thank you.

Nick_3536
8-Oct-2008, 22:55
Stop and fixer can be used for both. But you should have different bottles of at least fixer for each process. Stop is so cheap it's not a big deal to have two sets of that.

Jobo 2551 with a 2509N is the simplest. It's not the cheapest new but can be reasonable used. Trays are the cheapest.

rwyoung
9-Oct-2008, 11:08
There are some threads around here and over at APUG about using Rodinal (normally a film developer) for paper development. Also seen threads where people have used Cafinol (Folgerol, i.e. coffee developer) as both a film and paper developer.

I have tried Folgerol as a paper developer and while it did work, I didn't like the look and it stinks in an open tray! :) Rodinal as a paper developer I haven't tried. Might be fun some afternoon.

You can use plain 5% vinegar (white) as stop bath by diluting it 1 part vinegar to 3 or 4 parts water. Replace after 10 or 20 8x10s or after each film developing session. Or use an alkaline fixer like TF-4 or TF-3 and (distilled) water as your stop bath.

Donald Miller
9-Oct-2008, 11:37
Rodinal as a paper developer does not produce the dmax that conventional paper developers do.

I have used heavily diluted Dektol (1-30) for developing lith film that I used in a continuous tone masking application...not sure about pan film...never used it.

xmishx
9-Oct-2008, 11:44