PDA

View Full Version : AZO, HP5 8x10, adjusting for shadows and highlights, the next level for me,

Sean in Atl
5-Oct-2008, 14:32
Hi, I am a BFA photo student at a university that no longer has any 'old pros' on staff. I am the only one doing 8x10 and have some questions, thanks for reading.

First off, I have never read any of Ansel Adams books, I guess I need to do that. But I'm just saying that to let you know what I 'know.' I have seem his prints in person and understand that the kind of control those guys had can be helpful for me at this point in my development as a photographer working with traditional materials.

I am starting to see how I should be knowledgeable about different film developers now, maybe some kind of Pyro developer...

Here is what I am doing. Shooting close up portraits with an 8x10 with 200WS strobe to get some DOF. My goal is getting the subject to be the same size on the film. I feel that I have that part under control. Using a 'beauty dish' at F-32. Then I am contact printing on some old AZO paper, which is only a grade 2. I think that's my problem: no option for grades of paper.

I am shooting on HP5 using D-76 full strength and did some tests yesterday. I have found some exposures where I am happy with the shadow detail so I will now pull process to try to get some highlight detail. I have only done this in exercises in classes but it was early i my training so now I have a greater handle on nuances.

So, I am going to try to pull process 15% and 25% to see if that works for me. However, I think that the contrast will be reduced greatly. Is this right? If so, then if I am trying to contact print on a Grade 2 AZO paper this should be a problem. My guess is that the old pros didn't have this kind of problem because they had different grade paper options this wouldn't be a problem, right?

What should I do?