PDA

View Full Version : new to LF: development, resolution

dh003i
3-Oct-2008, 12:33
Hi all. I'm new to large-format photography. I've been considering making a tilt/shift bellows for my Oly E-3 DSLR, but am also interested into venturing into film LF photography. Digital LF is way out of my price-range.

So I have a few questions: how does one develop film? I don't have a real dark lab area; are there places you can take 4x5 or 8x10 negatives for development?

Also, assuming scanned in at the limits of the film's resolution, what digital resolution do the large formats correspond to (4x5 or 8x10)?

ic-racer
3-Oct-2008, 14:43
So I have a few questions: how does one develop film?

Its not too bad. Just 3 relatively safe chemicals used with the film in a light tight chamber.

are there places you can take 4x5 or 8x10 negatives for development?

Yes

Also, assuming scanned in at the limits of the film's resolution, what digital resolution do the large formats correspond to (4x5 or 8x10)?

A transmission electron microscope would faithfully capture the outline of the silver clumps ;)

Ron Marshall
3-Oct-2008, 15:07
Daylight development tanks are available, as are light-tight changing bags used to load the development tank. Have a read of the front page of this site, there is lots of useful info:

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/

A 4000 dpi drumscan of 4x5 will generate about a 16000x20000 pixel image.

phaedrus
3-Oct-2008, 18:02
So I have a few questions: how does one develop film? I don't have a real dark lab area; are there places you can take 4x5 or 8x10 negatives for development?

I actually had fun (and success) sending my 4x5 trannies to a large commercial lab through our local photo dealer. They still do it, and prices here in Germany are reasonable. 2€ per E6 sheet, IIRC.