PDA

View Full Version : Seeing in 4x5

davidp
30-Sep-2008, 05:22
Hey,

Today I met up with a famous Australian large format landscape artist called Geoff Woods (www.geoffwoods.com.au) and he gave me some really valuable tips on 4x5 and stuff. But one thing he wanted to make really clear was to start seeing in 4x5 world. Since i am only learning he said that at the moment I am only seeing in 6x6 world, square framing and normal depth of field blah blah, but I needed to start seeing the world in 4x5... He didn't describe it too clearly.... but he mentioned stuff like the whole attention to detail, he even said that the 4x5 will pick up detail our eyes wont at the scene, stuff like that. Also stuff with the focus and all and all of that. Even though i'm aware of the detail and the focus (to a degree, im still learning!) He said I need to throw out any other format world and just see in 4x5 world if I want to take 4x5 seriously. Has anybody else heard anything like this? I dunno If I explained it very well.... but could anybody expand upon this view?

I understand how I gotta view everything from a 4x5 perspective, rather than just 35mm and 6x6 when shooting large format, and I think i'm deffiantly beginning to (i've studied nothing but large format for months!) but on the other hand I could be wrong. Just remember this was his own personal view on large format photography

Anyways, if anybody has their own thoughts I'd like to hear them!!

Thanks.

willwilson
30-Sep-2008, 06:01
I'm not sure I totally agree with that concept philosophically, but that said, if it works for you by all means. I tend to think of camera in more of the paint brush type of way. The brushrs are my tools, big brushes for covering large areas of canvas and small brushes for the details. The brushes don't make paintings. Painters make paintings.