PDA

View Full Version : How do you store your bellows?

davidp
28-Sep-2008, 15:56
I was just wondering what is the best way to store bellows? Is there anyway to keep them long-lasting and to prevent sag?

I just have mine off camera on a flat surface... Will this make the bellows sag or should I keep them compressed or something?

Thanks! Oh BTW I have standard Sinar bellows on my Sinar F2 if that helps?

Skorzen
28-Sep-2008, 15:59
I'm no expert, but I would think that compressed would put the least strain on them, preferably compressed vertically. That's just what seems logical to me, I am curious to hear what others think.

davidp
28-Sep-2008, 16:26
How do you keep the compressed? in a box or something?

C. D. Keth
28-Sep-2008, 18:28
I keep them on the camera with the camera folded up. I see no reason to do different.

Don Hutton
28-Sep-2008, 18:28
I "store" mine either on a camera compressed (first choice) or vertically on a shelf if they are off the camera - i.e. lying on the rear standard assembly facing upwards - usually in a ziplock with a packet of dessicant to ensure that nothing starts growing.

Caroline Matthews
28-Sep-2008, 19:16
I highly recommend that you keep your bellow upside down. Otherwise, problems will develop.

Alan Davenport
28-Sep-2008, 22:35
On my Calumet monorail, I keep the bellows on the camera, partially compressed. The camera resides upside down in its case.

On the Tachihara, the bellows aren't removable, so they live folded up inside the camera.

robert fallis
29-Sep-2008, 00:06
compressed in the camera , with the camera upside down, they stiil sag a little 'cos there home made and heavy

bob

davidp
29-Sep-2008, 02:06
Compressed as much as they can? (without going too crazy tight) or should I leave them a little bit uncompressed so their not compressed so tightly?

Thanks!

BennehBoy
29-Sep-2008, 07:22