PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question: Which side of film is emulsion side?

abiggs
10-May-2001, 02:20
I feel like a complete idiot for asking this question. However, I will feel more like a complete idiot if I shoot 10 exposures and realize I have screwed them a ll up!

I am new to large format, and have recently finished my first 20 shots with Fuji 's Quickload system. Ok, feeling more comfortable. Now, I want to start loading my own film. I just purchased a box of FP4+ and 4 Lisco holders.

Before I start loading the holders in my closet, which side is the emulsion on? In the dark, I stole a sheet from the box to look at in in the light. Wasted exp osure aside, I noticed the notches in one corner of the film. One side looks bro wn, and the other grey. Someone said to lick my finger and see which side turns sticky. Well, both sides turn sticky.

Please save me from myself......

Michael S. Briggs
10-May-2001, 03:52
When you hold the sheet with the notch code in the upper-right corner, the emuls ion is facing you.

Robert A. Zeichner
10-May-2001, 07:54
With the sheet held vertically, the notch(s) at the top edge and to the right, you are looking at the emulsion side. With the film held horizontally, the notch(s) will be on the right side toward the bottom when the emulsion faces you.

abiggs
10-May-2001, 11:14
Thanks for your comments. I figured public ridicule was far better than going on location and shooting null film.

Thanks

Jim Galli
10-May-2001, 12:28
.........like I did. On expensive chrome film too.

Jim Billlups
10-May-2001, 12:40
With the sheet held horizontally, the notch(s) will be on the left side toward the top when the emulsion faces you. Not the bottom right as mentioned above.

Erik Gould
10-May-2001, 13:05
"With the sheet held horizontally, the notch(s) will be on the left side toward the top when the emulsion faces you. Not the bottom right as mentioned above..." Jim, you are both right of course. Depends on how you hold the film!