PDA

View Full Version : LF Help

bumgardnern
21-Sep-2008, 17:36
Hi

I am in search of a good large format camera and really do not know where to start. I have read though a lot of the postings on this forum and looked around quite a bit and have no clue where to start. So I am looking for some guidance. So I will start with some information about me.

I am an editorial photographer who is trying to make the jump to becoming a commercial photographer. I have wanted to get a large format camera for years but have never done it because of a lack of knowledge. Right now I really want to start doing a series of large format portraits and do either gum prints or platinum palladium prints with them. What I love about LF is the sharpness, tonal range, detail, and over all feel that LF negatives offer. I have only used a large format camera a few times. I have a basic knowledge of using movements and how a large format camera works.

I will also use the camera for landscape and architecture. So some movements would be great.

Price wise I am looking to get started with the camera, film holders and a lens for under $1,500usd.

To see some of my current work please visit my website www.bumgardnerphoto.com (http://www.bumgardnerphoto.com) hopefully it will be able to give you some insight about where I am photographically and help you help me figure out what I need to start with.

Rafael Garcia
21-Sep-2008, 18:18
Format? 4x5, 5x7, 8x10, others? 4x5 will need an enlarger, 5x7 is marginal, 8x10 can live off contact prints.

Portrait - a monorail camera works in the studio. No portability required
Landscape - a field camera is lighter, more portable
Architecture - a monorail will have the movements necessary, portability less of an issue

$1500.00 - adequate for your needs if you buy good used equipment. For reference visit KEH.com. Their ratings are very conservative so that "bargain" is pretty good.