PDA

View Full Version : Trials and tribulations

Vaughn
15-Sep-2008, 09:02
Trials and tribulations of being in charge of the loaner cameras at a university...

I have had students try to develop their 4x5 film in the film holders (at least they removed the darkslides first), I have had field cameras returned unfolded (at least they did not force them closed), and assorted other experiences.

I received this email today from a recently graduated student.

Vaughn,

I wanted to show you this photo AFTER I graduated, this might explain
how I managed to get a little mud go on one of the 4x5 film holders.
The photo is titled "Don't tell Vaughn".

Thanks for all of your help!

Michele

Kirk Gittings
15-Sep-2008, 09:38
At SAIC a few ears ago we had a student drop a Mamiya 645 over the side of a canoe....

Richard Wasserman
15-Sep-2008, 09:43
I was a TA at Columbia College in Chicago in the 1970's and one night went into the darkroom to chase everyone out to go home and discovered that a pipe had sprung a leak. There was a geyser of water spraying up to the ceiling that had soaked 3 enlargers and made quite a flood everywhere. The students using the affected enlargers had simply switched to other, dry ones. Of course no one using the darkroom had told anyone about the water.

Vaughn
15-Sep-2008, 11:33
Richard,

I have the dubious honor of causing the biggest indoor flood in recent university history. I was replacing a shut-off valve under the print processing sink (actually just putting a new one on top of the old one because every time I asked the campus plumbers to do it, they would say they did not know where the shut-off for that water line was and they'd have to shut off the whole the building.)