PDA

View Full Version : A total new guy, digital convert?

reeluff
12-Sep-2008, 14:29
Hey!

At the moment I am using a 5D, but just feel it is not the format for me. Everytime I see large format photography I get jealous, so here I am hoping to be made a large format guy. I will use my digital for one style and envision the large format for a different style.

So being a complete newbie I would need to learn everything from the ground up. I have not really even used much film before, though I know I want to use large format over medium.

I have used digital for most of my life, and so using a camera and the basics I know... just the technicallities of large format.

So, here is what I want...

I am thinking 4x5, light equipment...as in not a backache to carry. If it is too heavy I would probably not take the camera out. I would like full capabilities of tilt, swing etc. Would probably buy used for lower costs. My style would be natural light, outdoor and indoor people photos. And i would like to scan at home to a good resolution. What that means to me is something similar to my 5d. Then when needed drum scan for good output later on.

So my questions would be,

What camera?
What lens? (Something comparable to 50mm in 135 photography)
What scanner? (heard flatbed is ok for large format)
What film?

Where in the UK is a good place to buy film/ get film processed?

And what are some good webistes/ books on large format techniques/ or even online galleries of large format work?

thanks so much.
Lee.

drew.saunders
12-Sep-2008, 14:34
Start here, as in the parent web site for this forum: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/

Ash
12-Sep-2008, 14:40
What camera?
What lens? (Something comparable to 50mm in 135 photography)
What scanner? (heard flatbed is ok for large format)
What film?

Those are such broad questions you'll need to decide WHAT you want to shoot to decide.