PDA

View Full Version : My first Zone System test

jack_hui
11-Sep-2008, 23:58
Dear all,

I am new to B&W field, and would like to perform a series of ZS test by myself. After I read several good books, I have come up with the following procedures;

Tools and material:
1) 3 film holders with 6 HP5+ films
2) extra 5 holder's slide. Each one of them has drilled a hole of 10mm, and each hole has a different location on each slide.
3) One light box (white light)
4) 8x10 camera with 300mm len
5) 1 deg. Spot light meter

Procedures:
1) setup the camera with the len, and set it to infinity.
2) Turn on the light box until the light is stable and use the spot meter to check the variation of the light is within 1/10 EV.
3) Put the light box close to the len, so that the gound glass can only show the "white light"
4) Meter the light box @ISO200 and reduce the reading by 5 stop, i.e. it would be Zone 0
5) replace the dark slide with the first "drilled hole slide", and shot once, then the "exposed hole" would be
Zone 0
6) Adjust the exposure by +1ev
7) Replace the dark slide with the second "Drilled hole slide", and shot once, and it would be Zone 1
8) Cont' the rest shots (from Zone 0 to Zone IX)
9) Shot all 6 film by doing the same step as above.
10) develop the 6 film by different time, read the density and plot the graph, and hopefully I can get my result.

Can anyone tell me, is there anything wrong with my
procedures???

Thanks a lot!

Jack
P.S. I am not an English speaking person, and hope you all
can understand what I meant above.

aduncanson
12-Sep-2008, 10:18
Since you have received no real answers, I will weigh in with my observation that your approach should get you the data you require, but that you will probably find that film is much less expensive than all of those dark slides that you plan to mutilate.

Alan Curtis
12-Sep-2008, 10:50
Jack