PDA

View Full Version : Colenta 30 AT Processor

mbuonocore
11-Sep-2008, 13:29
Hello all,

What are the chances of anyone having knowledge about a Colenta 30 AT processor? From what I gather, it was manufactured in 1975 - making it one year my senior!

The fellow before me used it for processing cibachromes, and I take it he was the original owner. Seems to be in working condition, with all the parts intact - except for the manual!

It's a rotary model, and I've got a few orange "spindles" (for lack of a better word) for it. I've never used any equipment like this before, and need guidance with regards to running / maintaining it properly.

I'm hoping to process film in it - 4x5 and 8x10 B&W, and B&W reversal. If possible, I would also love to do large runs of 120 every now and again, but have no idea if this machine is capable of doing so.

If anyone has some insight into these matters, I'd very much appreciate it!

Thanks,

Marco Buonocore

Don Dudenbostel
12-Sep-2008, 05:30
I can't remember the model number of the colenta machines I had. I had one large floor model that would run about 24 or 30 4x5's at a time and prints to 20x24. My small one fit in a sink and would run 12 or 18 4x5's or 5 120 or 4 35's if I remember correctly. I owned them in the 80's and 90's but can't remember the specifics. Both used timers to run the process and were set with thumb wheels on a control panel. There are reservoirs for chemicals that have rubber plungers in the bottom activated by the timers. The plungers leak chemicals if they aren't perfectly aligned. The plastic in the paddles for sheets become very brittle over time and have to be replaced about every year or so. It required sending the paddle to colenta for repairs.