PDA

View Full Version : How big from 5x4?

Jon Warwick
10-Sep-2008, 04:06
This is a subjective question, but I will try to convey what quality keeps me happy to help you answer.

I've spent the last decade using a medium format 6x7 camera (specifially, a Mamiya 7 that has about the sharpest medium format lenses around), and I've always had traditional darkroom prints made to 24"x20".

I'm new to LF, and also new to digital printing.

I've started using an Ebony 5x4 with a Super Symmar 110 XL lens.

I will get a pro lab to drum scan the Acros 100 negative, and get them to digitally print the image using their Lambda printer (likely onto Harman-Ilford fibre paper).

Using the Mamiya 6x7 medium format camera, I am very pleased with the sharpness and grain of prints up to 24"x20" from the traditional darkroom -- the Mamiya 6x7 seems to achieve pretty pin-sharp ("nose-to-print sharp") images up to that print size if my technique has been flawless, in my view.

I'm now looking to achieve the same equivalent "image quality" (mainly in terms of sharpness & grain) that I've enjoyed from the Mamiya's 24"x20" analogue prints, but now in a much bigger print size from the 5x4 and using a digital darkroom.

Taking into account the above parameters, is their any indication what digital print size I can achieve from the 5x4 negatives, whilst achieving an "image quality" that matches the Mamiya's 24"x20" analogue prints??

Many thanks.

Bruce Watson
10-Sep-2008, 05:19
A 24 inch print from a 7 cm long film is about an 8.7x enlargement. You can go larger than this and still get acceptably sharp prints. Especially from Acros.

But assuming that 8.7x enlargement is the maximum you are comfortable with, then from a 5 inch long film you can go about 43.5 inches. IOW, a 30x40 inch print is more or less the equivalent print size from your 5x4 negative.