PDA

View Full Version : 11x14 Suggestions

chris_4622
8-Sep-2008, 12:44
Hello all,

I'm just beginning to dip my toes in the ULF waters with a desire to move up to an 11x14 camera. I'm on a fact finding mission and I need your help.

At this point I am thinking of flexibility; being able to change the back to 7x11, and maybe even 5x7. I don't know what kind of bellows length would be desirable but I don't think I would go over a 600mm lens for the longest. Right now I have a 360mm lens with enough coverage so that would be my short lens for the two larger film sizes.

The thought here was when traveling I would only have to take one camera and three backs, film holders and three or four lenses.

I've thought about a Richard Ritter camera, light weight but I don't think the backs are removable.

Okay maybe this idea is not feasible, but that is why I'm here, to see what people here who use large cameras have to say.

thanks
chris

Richard M. Coda
8-Sep-2008, 13:25
I have an Arca-Swiss 8x10 with a custom Canham 11x14 back. So I can switch back to 8x10 by just changing the back and bellows. I also have an Arca 4x5 (whole camera), but can also take the 4x5 bellows and back (only) and have 3 formats is a rather small kit. See my blog for photos...

RichardRitter
8-Sep-2008, 15:12
The 11 x 14 back come off the box and rotate. And if you want the 7 x 17 or any other size pan back removable from the box that can be done. These camera are custom made to your needs. Have you see the user manual on the camera?

Allen in Montreal
8-Sep-2008, 15:25
I have an Arca-Swiss 8x10 with a custom Canham 11x14 back........

Richard, I would love to see a picture of that setup, it must be amazing??

eddie
8-Sep-2008, 15:34
chris,

i just began shooting ULF (11x14) one thing is for sure on a camera this size you would not want to take it out and shoot 5x7! it would be way better just to get a 5x7 camera.