PDA

View Full Version : Ansco front focus?

Fred Haeseker
1-Sep-2008, 12:44
I have a late model Ansco 8x10 (from what I can tell a very basic Universal) that I'm just learning to use. The camera sits on a 20-1/4" bed with one tripod bushing 5-1/2" behind the front standard and another (mounted in a non-sliding plate) 6-1/2" in front of the back of the bed.
What I'm wondering about is the possibility of using front instead of tailboard focus, which would be easier for the landscape subjects I shoot.
There are what look like two focusing knobs at the bottom of the front standard. On the left facing the camera is a large knob identical to the rear focusing knobs. On the right is a smaller knob held by a set screw. These knobs can't be moved. Loosening the set screw just allows the small knob to be removed.
Is there some secret to using these knobs for front focus?
I've read in a number of posts on this forum that the Ansco can be reversed on its bed, but I can't figure out how this could be done. Are those front knobs just for use when the camera is reversed?
Any information would be much appreciated. I've searched all over the Web, but I've only be able to find an advertising brochure for the Agfa-Ansco view cameras.

Glenn Thoreson
1-Sep-2008, 13:17
Can you put up a picture of the front standard with it's hardware?

Gene McCluney
1-Sep-2008, 14:00