PDA

View Full Version : B&W noob, looking for film/chemistry recommendation

Tim k
31-Aug-2008, 19:30
When I started my adventure into 4x5 my end goal was a large color print on the wall.

However, I find my tastes seem to be migrating toward black and white. In the last 50 years I have shot a total of 1 roll of 35mm black and white. So I have no idea whats what now.

I would like to be able to stick with a chemistry film combination for some time, so I'm not messing around with confusing variables. It would be nice to be able to use the same combination in 35mm for testing and later 4x5. My interest is landscape and just stuff. I'm not a big fan of grain. I'm just getting started in processing, so forgiving would be good. Also it would be nice if the chemistry didn't kill the dog.

I did a lot of searching and reading and was unable to come to a conclusion on my own. So I sure would appreciate some opinions or suggestions.

Thanks again for all your help.

ic-racer
31-Aug-2008, 19:35
T-max100 is excellent as both 4x5 and 35mm film. T-max developer can be used for both. My development times and exposure index are similar with both film sizes.

mbdiesel
31-Aug-2008, 19:38
Tim,

Tri-x in D76 or Xtol is very forgiving. Delta 100 in xtol is very nice if grain is an issue.

Didn't want to bore you to death with details but the above suggestions should be a start.

venchka
31-Aug-2008, 21:29
Oldies, but goodies: D-76 & Rodinal, dilute to taste.
Newer and nice: Xtol, dilute to suit. Contrary to Kodak USA, Xtol diluted 1:3 works very nicely.
For the adventurous: Xtol with a shot of Rodinal. Or Rodinal, 1:100, semi-stand development. GOOGLE can point the way.

Ron Marshall
31-Aug-2008, 21:54
Both TMX and TMY give fine images in XTOL, sharp, very fine grain.

Daniel_Buck
31-Aug-2008, 22:12