PDA

View Full Version : Eastman Kodak 2-D (and other's of that era)

Mike Fiction
19-Aug-2008, 10:20
I'm looking to get a fixer-upper 8x10 and would like something like the 2D but had a couple of questions. I'm looking for something primarily for portraiture.

Do the backs on these pull off and rotate (like on a Tachihara) to be in either landscape or portrait? I assume so, but are there any models that I should look out for that don't?

The 2D seems like the best model for what I want, is there any other camera suggestions from that era? I have no experience in person with any 8x10 other than some Deardorff's I've seen at mpex, so I'm kinda running blind with this :)

Front tilt would be nice, I've seen 2D's modified with this movement, is that difficult to do?

What kind of price range is the 2D in non-restored condition? What do replacement bellows cost?

BarryS
19-Aug-2008, 11:29
The 2D is a good choice for a portrait camera. The backs are all reversible, so that's not an issue. You could also look at the Century, Korona, or Seneca cameras--they're fairly similar. Check out http://www.fiberq.com/cam/index.htm for a good listing. You can have Richard Ritter add front tilt for an extra ~$300, but I'd probably just go for good user Deardorff if you want more movements. A new bellows will run about $300, so make an effort to find a 2D with a good bellows. Prices range from about $250 to $650 depending on condition, accessories, and whether or not it includes the extra rear rail. If you want to shoot with long lenses, the rear rail is good to have.

Benno Jones
19-Aug-2008, 11:49
If you're interested, Mike, I have a B&J 8x10 that needs some fixing up (good cleaning, new bellows). All the movements you could ever want, the back pulls off and rotates. PM if you want some pictures, etc.

Mike Fiction
19-Aug-2008, 15:51