PDA

View Full Version : Cache of Old Glass Negatives

Lensone
16-Aug-2008, 23:16
I just found this forum, and this is my first post. I am a professional photographer. I am looking to scan a few thousand glass plate negatives in sizes ranging from 11x14 to 5x7, and I need advice on potential scanners to buy. The images are old, up to 125 or 135 years, so many of them will have really thick emulsions. Multiple passes may be necessary, and that is not an issue. Scanner size and reliability obviously are issues with such a heavy workload. Image quality is an absolute deal breaker, so the ability to scan dense images well is important.

Any advice?

Jim Galli
16-Aug-2008, 23:30
Where I work we have an Epson 1640 with the transparency lid. It will scan 11X17 but it really struggles with the over dense negs. So maybe I can only tell you which one may not be a player.

Lensone
16-Aug-2008, 23:45
Have you ever experimented with PHOTOGRAPHING (digitally) an old neg?

Jim Galli
17-Aug-2008, 00:03
My negs are just like your old negs. I shoot a lot of 8X10 with antique lenses and use pyro developers so my stuff tends to be pretty thick. Probably 1/2 the images at my sight are neg scans from that scanner that I've not had time to print yet.

No, I've not bothered to photograph old negs. Scanners are the key to a good product. A poor scanner would trump a photograph.

Ash
17-Aug-2008, 02:03
With the facilities, a contact print of each negative (as the exposure time and light strength is completely controlled by you) which is then in turn scanned may be a way to go, if you can't find the negative scanner you want.

You only need the most basic darkroom to develop contact prints.

Lensone
17-Aug-2008, 03:02
What paper would you suggest for contact prints?

Justin Cormack
17-Aug-2008, 06:22