PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question about Lens Coverage

Bob Barber
14-Aug-2008, 10:43
Hi,

I'm just getting into large format photography. I have an old press camera that I picked up off ebay, and a Kodak Anastigmat 203mm 7.7 for a lens. I took and developed my first few pictures the other day. Well, none of them were great, mainly because I didn't manage depth of field very well. However, I was excited by the sharpness of the lens and the details that were rendered in the in-focus areas.

I've read that forward tilt will give me more apparent depth of field in certain situations, so I decided to try this. Here's the thing: When I tilt my lens forward, I almost immediately get vignetting. After just a slight tilt, the image circle begins to crawl up across the ground glass. Yes, the image comes beautifully into focus after a time, but now I'm only covering about 2/3 of the film!

I got the Kodak in part because it covers 210mm, and I understood that it would allow me a fair amount of movements on 4x5. My expectations (mainly based on pictures that I have seen of large format cameras in action) were that I could really tilt the lensboard a good 10-20 degrees or more. Well, not on my camera. Not so far...

1) What am I doing wrong, if anything?

2) Would I benefit by buying another lens with even greater coverage?

3) Am I right in assuming that the 210mm lenses with huge image circles (@ 500mm) are WAY too big to use on the kind of camera that I am using now?

I am VERY interested in learning how to do movements. I want to shoot landscapes with foreground objects in focus.

Please give me any tips that you have! Thanks.

aduncanson
14-Aug-2008, 12:59