PDA

View Full Version : panoramic

toomy
13-Aug-2008, 04:45
Hey guys just a couple of questions that i would like answered, I'm looking into taking panoramic photos just wondering what sort of camera and flim and stuff like that would i be needing i have a budget of about US 1200.
Thanks tom

Scott Kathe
13-Aug-2008, 06:21
Which panoramic format were you thinking about? I've been thinking about a 6x12 or possibly a 6x17 back to put on my 4x5. I have no panoramic experience but in addition to the dimensions you want to shoot it would be helpful to know the subject matter as well. I'm sure more experienced members will assist you in your decision making process.

Scott

Aender Brepsom
13-Aug-2008, 06:40
For 6x17 cm, you have basically 2 options:
either a dedicated panorama camera for that format or a 6x17 back on a 4x5 or 5x7 view camera.
With a budget of USD 1200, I fear that the only viable option will be a 6x17 camera.
It has quite some advantages like ease of use and reasonably small dimensions. However, you do not have the same amount of movements on such a camera. The only movement you can have is vertical shift.
With a 6x17 back on a view camera, you would also have tilt, swing etc. but you might not need it.

I have tried both options in the past. I can recommend the Gaoersi 6x17, a chinese camera that is not very expensive, but really well built, and it does exactly what it is supposed to: taking excellent wide panoramic shots. There are other brands like Fotoman, Fuji. Linhof etc. but they are all more expensive.

You'll need a large format lens with an image circle of at least 180 mm (better 200mm) in a shutter (Copal, Compur, Prontor etc). Many 6x17 cameras are used with lenses between 90mm (very wide) and 180mm or longer.
Check here for possible lenses: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses/LF6x17cm.html
On a 90mm lens, you'll probably need a center filter to compensate for the light fall-off.