PDA

View Full Version : Chamonix instead of wista SP???

Hollis
11-Aug-2008, 23:39
I have a Wista 45 SP that I have been shooting for a few years now and I love it. I find that I am way more productive with this camera than anything else I have used. I love this camera. My dilema is that the bellows are a bit limited in length (just barely 300mm). I have been toying with the idea of selling my Wista and getting a Chamonix, I can't afford both at the moment.

So, any input would be appreciated. Also, I am nto exactly 'hard' on equipment but I expect it to work everytime I pick it up and I shoot lots and lots of film. Also, I put about 30,000 miles a year on my cameras so it has to be durable.

BradS
12-Aug-2008, 00:07
I think that you will regret it. The fact that you're asking suggests that you know you'll regret it. If you love the camera, stay with it. There is a lot of buzz about the Chamonix right now. Maybe it is deserved, maybe not. A few years ago, there was an equivalent buzz about the Shen Hao...these things pass. Keep your Wista. If you really need more bellows, get a top hat board.

Utomo Tjipto
12-Aug-2008, 02:10
Hollis, I also use Wista VX and Chamonix. Love them both. Main difference is Weight between the two. Due to my occupation, usually I travel by planes and helicopters and by hiking/climbing to remote and no road areas. From this factor, Chamonix is much much lighter and allows me to use lighter tripod. I usually use standard lenses. If you travel using trucks, the needs may be different. Anyway, Wista has extended bellows that you can order through their website.

Bob Salomon
12-Aug-2008, 04:03
Your Wista is not limited in length. Wista makes extended lensboards as well as extension beds and bellows for your camera. These can be ordered from most dealers like Samy's, Calumet, Silvio's, Bel Air Camera, Simon's, etc. in your area.

Walter Calahan
12-Aug-2008, 04:23
My car needs new tires, so I need to buy a new car.

Get a longer bellows.