PDA

View Full Version : Wista DX

dfn
30-Jul-2008, 09:14
Just a short question:
Is 749 USD a good price for a brand new Wista DX? Is it worth the extra cost vs Shen Hao or Tachihara?

k_redder
30-Jul-2008, 09:26
Just a short question:
Is 749 USD a good price for a brand new Wista DX? Is it worth the extra cost vs Shen Hao or Tachihara?

I can't speak to whether the DX is worth the extra money, but having just been in the market for a 4x5 the DX was one that I was considering and I don't recall seeing one for sale new at that price. So if the DX is the camera you really want, $749 looks like a pretty good deal to me.

Duane Polcou
30-Jul-2008, 13:33
I've been using Wista cameras since 1988 . First a Wista VX, and now a Wista D (an older version of the SP) which I purchased on eBay for about $575 from a gentleman in Japan who regularly sells Wista gear online. Works flawlessly. I think Wistas are precise, solid cameras made by a company with a long history of producing gear with more substance than marketing.

Having checked out some wooden field cameras (Wista DX, Zone VI, Deardorf) I find wooden "folders" in general to be far less rigid and durable than their metal field counterparts. I agree with k redder that 749 is a good price for a Wista DX if it is BRAND NEW, but if you want to go used and want to consider a metal camera you may very well be able to buy for less.

Brian Ellis
30-Jul-2008, 22:08