PDA

View Full Version : Double processed RAW file?

trink408
29-Jul-2008, 08:19
What does that mean, double processed raw file?

I'm still learning CS3, and I like to know about the techniques people are using...

Thanks,
Kevin

Kirk Gittings
29-Jul-2008, 08:21
Where did you see that term, in what context?

Peter Mounier
29-Jul-2008, 08:35
Many people, including myself, will process raw images in an appropriate raw processor for exposure, white balance, contrast, etc. then move it to Photoshop to do more processing with layers.

Peter

David Luttmann
29-Jul-2008, 08:40
Many people, including myself, will process raw images in an appropriate raw processor for exposure, white balance, contrast, etc. then move it to Photoshop to do more processing with layers.

Peter

But that wouldn't be "double-processed Raw.".....that would be a standard conversion with normal POST-processing.

Like Kirk said.....what is the context of the question?

Daniel_Buck
29-Jul-2008, 08:44
I'm guessing you process it twice, then blend them together in photoshop? This is sometimes done to recover highlights, since RAW files carry more information in the highlights (how much, depends on the camera), but you can't always see that info in the highlights until you 'under expose' in your raw conversion. Some people will convert the raw file a 2nd time, under exposed, then blend in the recovered highlights into their first raw conversion.

trink408
29-Jul-2008, 09:06
Thanks guys,

I've seen this phrase used when photographers list details on images they post online, was curious what they meant.

I think Daniel might have the answer...

Greg Miller
29-Jul-2008, 09:11
Daniel's answer is correct. Double processing means processing the same RAW file twice. Once to get the shadow detail correct and a second time for the highlight's. And then merge the 2 images in Photoshop.