PDA

View Full Version : Film Identification Notches...

RJM
13-Jul-2008, 12:19
OK first let me say hello to you all.

I am a photographer based in the southwest UK. For the last few years I have been working digitally in order to pay the bills. However, I now work at a university and have the opportunity to use film equipment again., while I toy with the idea of trying for my masters in a year or two. In particular, I now have access to some 5x4 gear. I'm excited about this, as the last time I used large format was when I was doing my photography degree four years ago.

So I've borrowed a Wista, and I'm keen to get to work with it. I've found some of my darkslides in our film fridge, along with all the film that has shamefully sat unused since I graduated.

The darkslides look like they have film in them, but apart from some brief descriptions on the darkslides, I have no idea what films they contain!

So my question is this: is there a reference page of 5x4 film notches, so I can go through these darkslides and work out what films are in them.

I understand that the film is not going to be its best anymore. However, it's been refridgerated, and rather than just throwing it away, I may as well try the film out anyway, at least on some test shots while I get back into things.

I apologise if this is a really obvious question - feel free to berate this newbie at will. :-D

Thanks again. Great place you have, here.

lenser
13-Jul-2008, 12:32
Perhaps this will help:

http://photondetector.com/tools_ref/filmdata/

Tim

RJM
14-Jul-2008, 08:36
Very helpful, Tim. Thank you.

Lenny Eiger
17-Jul-2008, 14:09
Perhaps this will help:

http://photondetector.com/tools_ref/filmdata/

Tim

Great resource. It bugs me that some films have only one notch for all their different film! I wish an Efke rep was on here so I could scream at him/her.

Lenny

Glenn Thoreson
17-Jul-2008, 17:22
Not as bad as Kodalith, which has no notches at all. :D

RJM
19-Jul-2008, 08:37