PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 negs flake in Developer!

photoTEACH
10-Jul-2008, 11:17
Hi I am a photography teacher, mostly Large Format. Today we processed 4x5 Ilford FP4 in D76 for 11 min. 1:1, and in 50% of the cases, the emulsion flaked off in the developer around the edges. I am used to seeing scratches and dings, but not edges that look all roughed up and disintegrated. I need to explain this phenomenon to the class, any ideas about what went wrong?
I know the most obvious answer is that the film was agitated too aggressively, but I am skeptical because it happened with such consistency.
Thoughts or Ideas??:confused:
Thanks!

jetcode
10-Jul-2008, 11:29
Hi I am a photography teacher, mostly Large Format. Today we processed 4x5 Ilford FP4 in D76 for 11 min. 1:1, and in 50% of the cases, the emulsion flaked off in the developer around the edges. I am used to seeing scratches and dings, but not edges that look all roughed up and disintegrated. I need to explain this phenomenon to the class, any ideas about what went wrong?
I know the most obvious answer is that the film was agitated too aggressively, but I am skeptical because it happened with such consistency.
Thoughts or Ideas??:confused:
Thanks!

sounds like old emulsion no longer adhearing to the carrier or a bad batch of film ...

Kirk Gittings
10-Jul-2008, 11:29
Welcome,

What was the development method? Trays? Tanks with hangers?

Any chance you could scan one of the negatives and post it here?

David A. Goldfarb
10-Jul-2008, 12:10
High temperature could be another problem.

photoTEACH
10-Jul-2008, 12:17