PDA

View Full Version : Why EV numbers instead of f-stops?

Ellis Vener
25-Sep-1998, 05:56
I have been a professional (and well published) photographer since 1984 and befo re that I assisted for a few top level national pros for three years; I understa nd and use a (modified) zone system to help previsualize the final image when ev aluating the contrast range of a scene or a setup and I have never seen or felt a need in still photography for meter readouts in EV readings (much preferring t o use the direct language of the camera, f-stops). So can someone tell me why yo u would want to read light in EV numbers and then translate that to f-stops? It seems clumsy and inelegant but maybe there is a reason I am unaware of.

Alan Gibson
25-Sep-1998, 06:14
I think this question has been asked before, fairly recently, but possibly not in this forum.

When I use a meter, I am initially concerned about the contrast in the scene. By switching the meter to EV units, it tells me the range in stops. If I metered in aperture units, I would need to do some mental footwork to convert, and I usually get such things wrong. Having determined the EV that I want to appear at Zone V, I press a button, and get a shutter speed/aperture combination.

This is what works for me. I wouldn't attempt to persuade an experienced photographer to change their method to mine.

John Wiemer
25-Sep-1998, 11:12
I agree with Alan. For me, the use of EV values will give me a quick numerical check showing the range of values from important highlights to shadow detail....without having to worry about f/stops or shutter speeds. From that I can quickly see if the range of values will fit within the films latitude. I can quickly interpolate the EV value to an appropriate exposure. Again...whatever works for you.

Stewart Ethier
25-Sep-1998, 12:31