PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with falloff on beseler 810

Jrewt
5-Jul-2008, 13:07
It's been awhile since I posted in here, but I've been lurking I promise!

So I've had a Beseler 810 MXT for a long time now, but just recently got funds to start actually using the thing. I've got an older schneider 240mm enlarging lens which is silver. The light falloff from center to corner is amazingly bad! I don't know anything about enlarging since I have been a contact printer since I started shooting at 16.. So, I did a lot of searching, but could only find people complaining about the falloff and no real fixes/work arounds. I would eventually like to be able to enlarge to 20x24, but I've got roughly 200 sheets of 16x20 to play with- and I don't want to WASTE paper burning in edges and screwin' it up half the time.. I know many of you have experience with this enlarger, so I am begging you for possible solutions or workarounds.. I don't know anything about enlarging lenses, but I suspect that maybe a 300mm lens would allow me to enlarge to 16x20 without so much falloff. There is a eskofot- ultragon 305mm on KEH that seems reasonably priced, anyone know anything about these?

Sorry about the ramble!

Cheers

Brian Ellis
5-Jul-2008, 15:26
I've never used an 8x10 enlarger but with 4x5 135mm is the usual minimum and 150mm is better (IMHO). So I would assume that all other things being equal, 8x10 would require 270 at a minimum and 300mm better.

resummerfield
5-Jul-2008, 16:45
......I suspect that maybe a 300mm lens would allow me to enlarge to 16x20 without so much falloff.......I think you're right. I've enlarged 8x10 with El Nikkor 240mm and 300mm lenses, and the 300mm has less falloff in the corners. I'm not familiar with an eskofot-ultragon 305mm--is it a process lens, and what is its angle of coverage compared to a true enlarging lens like the El Nikkor line?

ic-racer
5-Jul-2008, 18:04