PDA

View Full Version : Betax #3 shutter

SCGorham
2-Jul-2008, 17:45
I am new to 4x5 photography and just bought a Graflex Graphic View II Camera on eBay. It came with an unmarked wide angle lens. The shutter is a Betax #3. The markings for shutter speeds are marked as follows T B 50 25 10 5 2. I know what the T and B are but I am educated guessing at the rest. Could some one explain them to me please.

Glenn Thoreson
2-Jul-2008, 18:20
They are the old shutter speed progression. 1/2 sec, 1/5 sec, 1/10 sec, etc. They are approximately 1/3 stop slower than modern speeds, which may not matter much. It depends on what you're using for film. B&W doesn't much care. Transparency (slide) film does. Not that it makes much difference until you find out how accurate it is. It's quite old and not likely to be that accurate. If you know the actual speeds and they are consistent, you can work around what you have.

Toyon
3-Jul-2008, 07:04