PDA

View Full Version : Schnieder 47Xl vs 58Xl

dbramley
25-Jun-2008, 12:06
This may sound silly and I am sure "it will depend on your vision" would be a common theme but, I have no experience going this wide with 4X5 and was wondering if anyone could offer any advice on which of these two lenses might be a better choice. Any advice technical or personal would be much appreciated.

Dan

Ron Marshall
25-Jun-2008, 12:42
I have a 55mm; it is my least used lens. I rarely feel the need for a lens wider than 90mm.

For the subjects I like to shoot, I think a 47mm would be too wide. However, as you have said, this is subjective.

What I advise, is first try the 58mm, if it is not wide enough, then re-sell and buy a 47mm. If you buy a used 58mm you should be able to sell it without a loss.

John Brady
25-Jun-2008, 12:49
Hi Dan,
I have a 47xl and a 58xl, the 47 is by far my favorite lens for 4x5. The 58 is easier to use, flat board versus recessed etc. As Ron mentioned this wide of a perspective isn't for everyone but for me it works. I may be parting with my 58xl soon to raise money for an ebony slw810. Contact me if you want to discuss.
www.timeandlight.com

Aender Brepsom
25-Jun-2008, 12:51
My experiences are the same as Ron's. I almost never used my 55mm on 4x5. Even 75mm was very wide. The 90mm was my most used wide angle lens on 4x5.
On 6x9cm however, I have used a 47mm and a 65mm for a while before replacing both by the 55mm, which was the right decision for me.

drew.saunders
25-Jun-2008, 12:52
You don't say where you live, but Calumet lists both in their rental catalog. $35/day for the 47 and $25/day for the 58, so you could pick them both up for a night or two cheaply enough.

Ole Tjugen
25-Jun-2008, 13:22
One is wider; the other one offers more movements. Both are about ar easy or difficult to use.

I like wide lenses, and find them very easy to use for the kind of photography I usually do.