PDA

View Full Version : 8x10 Film Shipping and Heat

mccormickstudio
11-Jun-2008, 08:55
I managed to shoot up all of my 8x10 c-41 film which I ordered in the cool of springtime and now I'm desperate to order some more film to finish shooting for a September show. Does anyone have experience ordering 8x10 film and shipping it in the summertime? I usually order from B&H or Freestyle, but I'm wondering if anyone will ship the film in a cold container (dry ice?) Or does anyone know of a location near Indianapolis that sells 8x10 c-41? Columbus or Chicago maybe? Should I risk ordering in the heat?

Thanks.

Gene McCluney
11-Jun-2008, 09:36
Yes, I have 40 years experience of ordering Large Format film (all sizes) in Color and b/w, in the hottest part of summer here in Arkansas (100+ degrees) and have never experienced any heat related problems. You need to realize that the film is shipped to your vendor from the film factory in common carriers, truck lines, package delivery services or US Mail. No climate control. Film is warranted to be free of defects when you get it. If there EVER was a problem with shipping, the film manufacturers would change the way they ship. You can order your film with confidence, any time of the year.

If you use Ilford, Foma, Efke or Fuji, all these are shipped by boat in large un-airconditioned containers, and it takes weeks to get here. If there was a problem, then it would be widespread. I have never, ever heard of a "heat damage" complaint regarding film shipping to the customer. It is not a day or two of higher temperatures that damages film anyway.

windpointphoto
11-Jun-2008, 09:41